The Cow Book: A Story of Life on an Irish Family Farm

Binding: Paperback
Pages: 288
Pub Date: 01/03/2018
Publisher: Granta Books
ISBN: 9781783784172
Availability: In Stock
Quick overview The intimate account of a year on an Irish farm - and a fascinating history of man's long relationship with the cow.
Product description

'This is an important slice of living, breathing agricultural history written with absolute honesty by an insider who has the rare quality of being able to see it from the outside too.' - Rosamund Young, author of The Secret Life of Cows'

I usually view rural Ireland from a train or car window but reading this gripping, fascinating book I felt I was becoming a cattle farmer.' - Roddy Doyle

Farming has been in John Connell's family for generations, but he never intended to follow in his father's footsteps. Until, one winter, he finds himself back on the farm and begins to learn the ways of the farmer and the way of the cows. Connell records the hypnotic rhythm of the farming day - cleaning the outhouses, milking the herd, tending to sickly lambs, helping the cows give birth. But alongside the routine events, there are the unforeseen moments when things go wrong: when a calf fails to thrive, when a sheep goes missing, when illness breaks out, when depression takes hold, when an argument erupts and things are said that cannot be unsaid. The Cow Book is the story of a calving season. It is also the story of the cow itself, from its domestication and worship as a God by the Ancient Egyptians to the modern practice of mechanized herds, via the figure of the cowboy, the destruction of the American buffalo, the demise of the aboriginal jackaroos and the consequences of BSE. And, above all, it is the story of Connell's life as a farmer, of his relationship with his birthplace of County Longford, with the community around the family farm, with the animals he tends, and with his father.

John Connell was published in Granta's New Irish Writing issue, and has also had a story published on He lives on his family farm in County Longford, and this is his first book.

Additional information
Customers who bought this item also bought

Letters to my Daughters

This book is currently reprinting but you can still place an order to be supplied as soon as the new stock arrives. ALL DUBRAY PROFITS FROM SALES OF 'LETTERS TO MY DAUGHTERS' WILL BE DONATED TO THE BREAST CANCER IRELAND. The new heartwarming novel from Emma Hannigan, the No. 1 Irish bestselling author of THE PERFECT GIFT and THE WEDDING PROMISE. Perfect for fans of Patricia Scanlan and Jojo Moyes. 'Wonderfully uplifting' Cathy Kelly on THE PERFECT GIFT.

The Hidden Life of Trees

How do trees live? Do they feel pain, or have awareness of their surroundings? Research is now suggesting trees are capable of much more than we have ever known. In The Hidden Life of Trees, forester Peter Wohlleben puts groundbreaking scientific discoveries into a language everyone can relate to.

scared stones of ireland

Sacred stones and stone monuments feature the world over and Ireland is no exception. Our landscape is dotted with them. This is a wonderful reminder of our spiritual past as some of these stones and monuments enter their fifth millennium and the wisdom of the Celtic tradition re-emerges.