close
Facebook

Little Fires Everywhere

Author: Celeste Ng
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 384
Pub Date: 07/09/2017
ISBN: 9781408709726
Availability: In Stock
Quick overview A Dubray Staff Recommended Read... A compulsive, brilliant novel about race, identity, family and secrets for fans of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and Zadie Smith.
€16.90
€14.99
Product description

Mia and her daughter Pearl rent a duplex from Mrs. Richardson, not knowing their lives are about to be radically altered. Artist Mia’s nomadic existence both fascinates and disturbs Elena Richardson, a mother who believes in playing by the rules to stay safe. Yet, underneath the calm surface of life in Shaker Heights, there are secrets, deceptions and hidden resentments, and all it takes to ignite them is the right spark… Complex characters and a cunningly constructed plot keep you gripped until the final incendiary page.

Recommended by Karina Clifford, Dubray Stillorgan

'I read Little Fires Everywhere in a single, breathless sitting' Jodi Picoult The brilliant new novel by the author of the New York Times bestseller, Everything I Never Told You. Everyone in Shaker Heights was talking about it that summer: how Isabelle, the last of the Richardson children, had finally gone around the bend and burned the house down. In Shaker Heights, a placid, progressive suburb of Cleveland, everything is meticulously planned - from the layout of the winding roads, to the colours of the houses, to the successful lives its residents will go on to lead. And no one embodies this spirit more than Elena Richardson, whose guiding principal is playing by the rules. Enter Mia Warren - an enigmatic artist and single mother- who arrives in this idyllic bubble with her teenage daughter Pearl, and rents a house from the Richardsons. Soon Mia and Pearl become more than just tenants: all four Richardson children are drawn to the alluring mother-daughter pair. But Mia carries with her a mysterious past, and a disregard for the rules that threatens to upend this carefully ordered community.
When the Richardsons' friends attempt to adopt a Chinese-American baby, a custody battle erupts that dramatically divides the town and puts Mia and Mrs. Richardson on opposing sides. Suspicious of Mia and her motives, Mrs. Richardson becomes determined to uncover the secrets in Mia's past. But her obsession will come at unexpected and devastating costs to her own family - and Mia's. Little Fires Everywhere explores the weight of long-held secrets and the ferocious pull of motherhood-and the danger of believing that planning and following the rules can avert disaster, or heartbreak.

Additional information