close
Facebook

A Little History of the World

Binding: Paperback
Pages: 304
Pub Date: 19/08/2008
ISBN: 9780300143324
Availability: In Stock
Quick overview In 1935, with a doctorate in art history and no prospect of a job, the 26-year-old Ernst Gombrich was invited to attempt a history of the world for younger readers. Amazingly, he completed the task in six weeks, and "Eine kurze Weltgeschichte fur junge Leser" was published in Vienna. This book presents his history to English-language readers.
€12.95
Product description

In 1935, with a doctorate in art history and no prospect of a job, the 26-year-old Ernst Gombrich was invited to attempt a history of the world for younger readers. Amazingly, he completed the task in an intense six weeks, and "Eine kurze Weltgeschichte fur junge Leser" was published in Vienna to immediate success, and is now available in twenty-five languages across the world. In forty concise chapters, Gombrich tells the story of man from the stone age to the atomic bomb. In between emerges a colourful picture of wars and conquests, grand works of art, and the spread and limitations of science. This is a text dominated not by dates and facts, but by the sweep of mankind's experience across the centuries, a guide to humanity's achievements and an acute witness to its frailties.The product of a generous and humane sensibility, this timeless account makes intelligible the full span of human history.

Additional information
Customers who bought this item also bought

Letters to my Daughters

€17.55
€14.99
This book is currently reprinting but you can still place an order to be supplied as soon as the new stock arrives. ALL DUBRAY PROFITS FROM SALES OF 'LETTERS TO MY DAUGHTERS' WILL BE DONATED TO THE BREAST CANCER IRELAND. The new heartwarming novel from Emma Hannigan, the No. 1 Irish bestselling author of THE PERFECT GIFT and THE WEDDING PROMISE. Perfect for fans of Patricia Scanlan and Jojo Moyes. 'Wonderfully uplifting' Cathy Kelly on THE PERFECT GIFT.

Family Business

€18.20
A spell-binding new novel about love, the law, loyalty and difficult decisions from bestselling author and travel journalist Muriel Bolger